Reaching through Art

Discussion in 'Arts, Literature, and Games' started by Incense, Dec 26, 2012.

1. Incense

Incense Active Member

My friend told me once that a lot of people in Japan met Christ through the art and music of J.S. Bach 250 years after he died!
    You can read a lot if you search about this! It's fascinating...

It was very inspiring for me, I am not a great artist myself but I do some things here and there...

I think the Anglican Church is one of the most engaged in arts, in a beautiful way... How much do you think it is a efficient way to reach to people to let them know Christ... through art that is... How does it work, how can we do it?

And if anyone has any more stories like that, I would be so pleased to hear them!

2. Toma

Toma Well-Known Member Anglican

Canada
    Religion:
    Anglican
    The best, most thorough story one can possibly offer is his own.

My first encounter with anything supernatural - let alone with God - was in music. In the exalted heights reached by Palestrina, Bach, Schubert, Rachmaninov, and so many others, I knew there was a reality higher than my own self. This reality was clearly a Being, and at least a Person; how else could such joy exist in a way that we Persons can comprehend? I am no longer an atheist because of the fugue; after the symphony, I cannot be an agnostic.

I have come to associate music with the very voice or living force of the Lord. Somehow it is, for me, the very primitive and absolute expression of the "Original Glory" and the "Ancient Majesty", yet within the created world. He accomplishes this through His most beloved creatures: human beings. Note that the very last of all the Sacred Psalms, the consummation of all worship, goes thus:

1 Praise ye the LORD. Praise God in his sanctuary: praise him in the firmament of his power.
    2 Praise him for his mighty acts: praise him according to his excellent greatness.