From One Considering Anglicanism, Hello!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Carolinian, Jun 14, 2021.

1. Carolinian

Carolinian Active Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    Christian
    Background: I live in the great state of North Carolina, which still is a solid member of the Bible belt. Over the past few years, I have begun to look deeper into Christianity in an attempt to grow spiritually, and find a compelling theology. Emerging from one of countless, rather stale and theologically dead, non-denominational churches in my area, I became dissatisfied both theologically and aesthetically with my "country club." Now that I am heading off to college, I have more freedom to look into things without the interference of a father (whom I respect in many ways) that's enamored with the likes of Joel Olstein.

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert in any of this, I am just a young novice with the opportunity to join the Anglican Church.

Theological Evolution: Every church I have attended up until this point has been non-denominational. My experience with anything that could be described as traditional was a brief attendance at a local Moravian Church due to an invitation. Having attended church since birth, I can, unfortunately, say that I have never learned anything deeper than a general overview of the gospel mixed with some emotionalism and self-help Christianity. A few years ago, my brother started talking to me about Calvinism, which I had an immediate revulsion against. He started throwing Bible verses at me, which I was ill-prepared to handle. This led me to pull several mental gymnastic moves to refute what he was saying. I was so dissatisfied with my knowledge of Christian theology and how to refute Calvinism that I finally bought my very own KJV and decided to read it cover to cover.