Versions of the Bible

Discussion in 'Faith, Devotion & Formation' started by bwallac2335, Sep 4, 2019.

1. bwallac2335

bwallac2335 Well-Known Member

Religion:
    ACNA
    What are the best versions of the Peshitta, Orthodox Bible, and other Bible Translations. What do you use. I currently have only a NRSV. I used to have an ESL but gave it away to someone so they could have a Bible.

2. Anglo-cracker

Anglo-cracker Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    almost anglican
    I like the ESV, except for its translation of the Psalms. In many places it translates "mercy" as "steadfast love" which I guess is accurate (I am no language expert) but it wrecks the lyrical quality of the Psalms.
    I also use the NASB and the NRSV. I don't care for the NIV or the NLT, but they can be useful at times. Don't even talk to me about a paraphrase, I break out in hives.
    I was raised on the KJV and it holds a place in my heart. It also gave me quite an edge when we read Shakespear in high school English Lit.
    I have an Orthodox Study Bible but I couldn't say which translation it is (not home right now) but I like to get the Eastern perspective.
    Its good IMO to use multiple translations.

Cooper likes this.
  3. Magistos

Magistos Active Member Anglican

United States
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    I'll second that. Multiple translations are my preference. I use an NRSV with Apocrypha daily, but I also have an ESV, an RSV, a 1990s vintage NIV, a KJV, a CSB, and an NASB. I also have access to (read, my wife has) an Orthodox translation and a Catholic translation (RSV-CE).

I also have the Bibliotheca Bible set with it's translation.

Liturgyworks likes this.
  4. Rexlion

Rexlion Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Christian attending ACNA