Variations in Altar-Serving

Discussion in 'Liturgy, and Book of Common Prayer' started by Toma, Feb 13, 2013.

1. Toma

Toma Well-Known Member Anglican

Canada
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Friends,

How many different methods have you encountered in the service of the Holy Table or Altar, either by experience or observation? Are there widely-divergent ways of preparing all the various vessels, in Anglicanism?

On Friday I am assisting at a very small celebration of the holy Eucharist for a retired community. It is my first time serving at an Anglican Holy Communion, and it's a little daunting. Their pyx for holding unconsecrated bread is a small silver box! They probably use a burse, palls, purificators, and other things.

Please pray for me, that this sacred moment may do well for the edification of the souls who gather on Friday. :)

2. Symphorian

Symphorian Well-Known Member

UK
    Religion:
    Anglican, CofE
    Probably best to get the guidance of the Celebrant, but could include:

remove dust cover on the Altar to expose the fair linen cloth
    set up the Altar book or cards in their proper positions, ribbons in right places for the day
    check the box of breads, wine and water cruets. lavabo dish and towel, spare Purificator at Credence
    set corporal on Altar
    place Chalice in midst of Corporal
    drape a folder Purificator across the top of Chalice
    place Patten on top of Chalice, pressing down on Purificator
    place Priests wafer in Patten
    cover Patten with Pall
    drape Veil neatly over Chalice
    stand Burse upright to the side of Chalice

Light candles if used, Epistle side first then Gospel side. (Assuming Anglican two - snuff in reverse order)