Thoughts on a sermon I heard this morning

Discussion in 'Questions?' started by Robert Andrews, Jan 1, 2023.

1. Robert Andrews

Robert Andrews New Member

Uk
    Religion:
    Anglican
    This morning I attended my local Anglican church. Our Lay Reader Emeritus gave the sermon and a prayer. In the prayer she spoke about the need for God's love in places like Ukraine, China and Cameroon and referencing the evil of Herod spoke about the evil of modern dictators and despots like Putin. She also listed "Rightwing Benjamin Netanyahu' as amongst these.

I was quite shocked by this and it has troubled me all day. I am fairly new to this Church so I feel a little out of place rasing my concerns, and yet I can't seem to let it go.

The vicar wasn't there today and the entire service was taken by lay preachers.

Should I speak to the vicar about my concerns?

2. Shane R

Shane R Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican
    One has to ask where the Gospel is in these mental droppings passed off as sermons.

3. Elmo

Elmo Active Member

England
    Religion:
    Anglican
    'Go out into all the world...'

'Who has put down the mighty...'

It's in Jesus telling the leaders of his day how vile they were; it's in John castigating Herod for his evil. It's in the slaughter of the innocents. It's in needing to flee from danger posted by a tyrant. It's in Jesus' harsh condemnation of 'whitewashed sepulchres' and John's 'generation of vipers'. It's in Putin using the Russian Church the exact same way - to whitewash crimes. It's in preaching on the issues of the day that are affecting people who do also need God's love. How could anything be more relevent than bringing down warmongering tyrants and spreading the Gospel, the real one, to people - not this fake Russian politicised garbage that Constantinople rejected in 2018.

4. Rexlion

Rexlion Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Christian attending ACNA
    Glad you made it to church! :yes: