Theological education

Discussion in 'Personal Advice, Care & Prayers' started by Taiping, Jul 10, 2019 at 12:03 AM.

1. Taiping

Taiping New Member Anglican

Malaysia
    Religion:
    Christian
    I'm currently in my final year of my second Bachelor's degree and there are still certain things in life which I'm still unsure of. While visiting another Anglican church on Sunday, I spoke with the priest who delivered the sermon about God's call and mission as these things were in my mind. After answering the questions I had, he asked about me and he suggested that I work in a seminary first for a bit and then consider doing an MDiv as a full time student.

So, now I'm pondering whether or not I should get a theological education that sort of comes with a possible job offer. Could anyone here advise me about Masters level theological education and what should I consider before getting myself into it?

2. Peteprint

Peteprint Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    High-Church Laudian
    Hello Taiping.

I took my M.A. in Practical Theology online from St. Joseph's College of Maine, an RC institution. They also have an M.Div. I know that finding a suitable program can be both difficult and expensive, and I was happy with what this program offered:

https://www.sjcme.edu/academics/online/programs/

3. Taiping

Taiping New Member Anglican

Malaysia
    Religion:
    Christian
    Thanks!

I was also thinking what is the difference between a Masters in Divinity and other equivalent theological qualifications. And also if such a qualification is useful/practical.

4. Peteprint

Peteprint Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    High-Church Laudian
    Traditionally the M.Div. has been the standard for those seeking ordination. That being said, I know of some who have been ordained without it, and there seems to be a growing trend away from making it mandatory.

Fr. Brench likes this.
  5. Fr. Brench

Fr. Brench Member Anglican

United States