The “Mass”

Discussion in 'Liturgy, and Book of Common Prayer' started by Clayton, Jul 2, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Clayton

Clayton Active Member

United States
    I’ve been attending a local TEC church for the past two months rather than the RCC parish of which I am a member.

I’m of course in the habit of saying that I am “going to Mass” rather than “going to church” on Sundays. I understand there are some Anglicans who call the Sunday Eucharist service “the Mass” but that most Episcopalians do not.

I’m curious who here may call the Eucharist service “Mass” and who doesn’t, and why.

2. anglican74

anglican74 Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    There are two types of Anglican services, namely the Matins/Morning Prayer/Evensong Evening Prayer type service; and the Sacramental Eucharistic service.... They can be called the 'divine service' or by their own types, so you may see Morning Prayer at 9am, and Eucharist at 10am and such

3. Rexlion

Rexlion Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Christian attending ACNA
    I stick to "service" due to my background. 25+ years as a RC, followed by a roughly equal period in Protestant churches. It didn't take long in that latter period for me to come to view the RC "sacrifice of the Mass" as error-laden, so I became greatly averse to RC Mass (and RC anything) and wanted nothing to do with any of it. After all those years I can't help associating the very word with Romanism. (It took me a while to overcome my aversion to calling our priest "father", too, but eventually I did.) That is where I am, and why; I hope you won't be offended by my frankness.

4. Invictus

Invictus Well-Known Member

United States
    Religion:
    Episcopalian
    I usually say “going to church”, or sometimes “attending the liturgy”. My preference is the latter, but some people don’t know what that means, so it’s a “know your audience” type of thing.

5. Clayton

Clayton Active Member

United States