Purgatory/Guild of All Souls

Discussion in 'Faith, Devotion & Formation' started by CFLawrence, Aug 9, 2018.

1. CFLawrence

CFLawrence Active Member

United States
    Religion:
    Evangelical Episcopalian
    after the Marian Rosary thread I thought I would get my other question out of the way. I belong to the Guild of All Souls but I’m getting the feeling purgatory/prayer for the dead is also anathema in Anglicanism.

Is this something else I need to purge from my prayer life?

All responses are welcome.

CF Lawrence

2. Rexlion

Rexlion Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Christian attending ACNA
    I don't have a problem with people praying for the dead (although I think it's futile for the deceased, it can feel comforting), so long as they don't try to talk to or with the dead. In O.T. days people were stoned for doing that.

But then, I'm new to Anglicanism so I can't speak for anyone else here.

Peteprint and anglican74 like this.
  3. jschwartz

jschwartz New Member

Praying for the dead has been part of Judaism and subsequently, the Church, since Her inception.