Province of Alexandria becomes the 41st province of the Anglican Communion

Discussion in 'Anglican and Christian News' started by World Press, Jul 5, 2020.

  1. World Press

    World Press Active Member

    Likes Received:
    Province of Alexandria becomes the 41st province of the Anglican Communion

    June 29, 2020


    The Episcopal/Anglican Province of Alexandria has today become the 41st province of the Anglican Communion. It was previously known as the Diocese of Egypt with North Africa and the Horn of Africa, within the Province of Jerusalem and the Middle East.

    Its first Primate is Archbishop Mouneer Anis, who will continue in this role and his existing role as the Bishop of Egypt until his retirement next year. He remarked: “We are aware that many brothers and sisters, who served before us, have sown many seeds and now we are harvesting. May the Lord keep us faithful to Him and to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.”

    The Province of Alexandria will have four dioceses (Egypt, North Africa, the Horn of Africa, and Gambella) and will cover 10 countries – Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Mauritania, Chad, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti and Somalia; Morocco is included within the Church of England’s Diocese in Europe due to its proximity to Gibraltar.

    Click here for the rest of the article:
    S. DeVault and Cooper like this.
  2. S. DeVault

    S. DeVault New Member

    Likes Received:
    United States
    Anglican (ACC)
    Excellent news! (even though I'm in the continuing movement). We must pray for them, however. These are almost all Muslim majority countries, many of them follow draconian shari'ah laws. In fact, I think Mauritania only recently made slavery illegal.