Only 66 books in the Bible -- why the Apocrypha and Gnostic Gospels weren't included

Discussion in 'Sacred Scripture' started by Old Christendom, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. Old Christendom

    Old Christendom Well-Known Member

    Likes Received:

    Short but to the point.
    Pax_Christi, Toma and Jeff F like this.
  2. Toma

    Toma Well-Known Member Anglican

    Likes Received:
    Good video, brother in Christ.

    Here is a quote from John of Damascus to compliment your post. He was writing as late as the beginning of the 8th century A.D. :

    Exposition of the Orthodox Faith – Book 4, chapter 17:

    Observe that there are two and twenty books of the Old Testament, one for each letter of the Hebrew tongue. For there are twenty-two letters of which five are double, and so they come to be twenty-seven. For the letters Caph, Mem, Nun, Pe , Sade are double. And thus the number of the books in this way is twenty-two, but is found to be twenty-seven because of the double character of five. For Ruth is joined on to Judges, and the Hebrews count them one book: the first and second books of Kings are counted one: and so are the third and fourth books of Kings: and also the first and second of Paraleipomena: and the first and second of Esdra. In this way, then, the books are collected together in four Pentateuchs and two others remain over, to form thus the canonical books. Five of them are of the Law, viz. Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy. This which is the code of the Law, constitutes the first Pentateuch. Then comes another Pentateuch, the so-called Grapheia, or as they are called by some, the Hagiographa, which are the following: Jesus the Son of Nave, Judges along with Ruth, first and second Kings, which are one book, third and fourth Kings, which are one book, and the two books of the Paraleipomena [Chronicles] which are one book. This is the second Pentateuch. The third Pentateuch is the books in verse, viz. Job, Psalms, Proverbs of Solomon, Ecclesiastes of Solomon and the Song of Songs of Solomon. The fourth Pentateuch is the Prophetical books, viz the twelve prophets constituting one book, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, Daniel. Then come the two books of Esdra made into one, and Esther.

    There are also the Panaretus, that is the Wisdom of Solomon, and the Wisdom of Jesus [Ecclesiasticus], which was published in Hebrew by the father of Sirach, and afterwards translated into Greek by his grandson, Jesus, the Son of Sirach. These are virtuous and noble, but are not counted nor were they placed in the ark.
    Old Christendom likes this.