Anglican Theology

Discussion in 'Theology and Doctrine' started by refguy86, Oct 3, 2021.

1. refguy86

refguy86 New Member

I have been looking into Anglican theology and have some questions. My background is confessional Reformed but i have been moving in a more high church direction. I have read the 39 articles and am familiar with some of Anglican history as it relates to Westminster assembly

Could you suggest some Anglican dogmatic works? I am thinking a top ten must read list or something like that.

I am familiar with C.S. Lewis. That is in part why i started looking into Anglicanism.

My second question is are there Anglican book publishers or stores you would suggest?

Rhys likes this.
  2. Rhys

Rhys Member

USA
    Religion:
    Methodist
    Francis J. Hall's three-volume Theological Outlines and ten-volume Dogmatic Theology series is excellent; you can download them all here. One reviewer writes: Hall represents the high point of Anglo-Catholic theology and in many ways represents a form of Anglican Thomism...

Also of great use is Claude Beaufort Moss's The Christian Faith: An Introduction to Dogmatic Theology.

I'd further recommend Gerald Bray's The Faith We Confess: An Exposition of the Thirty-Nine Articles and The Books of Homilies: A Critical Edition.

Lowly Layman and refguy86 like this.
  3. refguy86

refguy86 New Member

Thank you for the suggestions and the link. Would you know a place to order the Francis Hall books in print. I have already picked up the Moss volume. Thanks again!

4. Rhys

Rhys Member

USA
    Religion:
    Methodist
  5. JonahAF

JonahAF Moderator Staff Member Typist Anglican

I am sure others here could suggest the contemporary recent works which are currently in print. From a classical Anglican standpoint, you can try the systematic works, such as:

Alexander Nowell, A Catechism, or Institution of the Christian Religion (1572)
    https://www.anglican.net/works/alex...r-the-institution-of-christian-religion-1572/