Advice For A New Follower

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Jay83, Apr 25, 2013.

1. Jay83

Jay83 New Member

Wales
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Hello there,
    My name is Jay I'm 29 years old. I'm originally from South Wales but have lived in Surrey for the past 6 years. I am new to the Christian life and I'm currently exploring the Anglican faith. I have recently started going to my local church with a view to become baptised.

I am starting to Pray more, read the Bible, but I am so confused on where to start in the Bible.

I have to be honest and say that I find the bible quite heavy going and a difficult read.

For absolute beginners like myself what are the most important chapters to read in the Bible?

I would appreciate any advice you may have on becoming a Christian, Adult Baptism etc...

Thank you and God bless you.

Jay

2. Lowly Layman

Lowly Layman Well-Known Member

I've heard many times that if you read no other book of the bible, read the Gospel according to St. John. I would certainly recommend it. I would also suggest using a modern translation like the NIV, ESV, or, my favorite, NLT. Of course, watching some of the great bible movies like Jesus of Nazareth or Passion of the Christ can be very helpful. I am very happy to hear about your decision to enter into the Christian life. God bless you on your way brother.

3. Gordon

Gordon Well-Known Member

Australia
    Religion:
    Franciscan - Anglican
    My advice would be to go to the scripture union website there is a uk site and it has the daily bread scripture reading series for the iphone or ipad if you a techno person like myself. I would suggest you use a modern translation like the NIV, NRSV or the ESV as LL said above. Start small and don't let yourself get too far bogged down in the old testament law books they will turn a new reader off very quickly.

If you want to read more slowly make your way through the New Testament and then tackle the Old Testament.