Money and God? I struggle with earning enough, but also being faithful

Discussion in 'Faith, Devotion & Formation' started by apologetic, Feb 17, 2017.

1. apologetic

apologetic Member

Australia
    Religion:
    Anglican
    "No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money." - Christ Jesus

I'm a charted accountant. I'm 25 and am likely to have children sometime in the next three years. I need to be financially well off in order to pay of my future children's education, (which in Australia for the best education is very expensive, about $30,000 a year). Further still, my parents are very wealthy and when they die I will inherit a considerable fortune. So when I read this part of scripture I am troubled. I want to be able to meet the needs of my future children , to live comfortably, and also serve Christ. I may by no means extravagant with my use of money.

Am I serving two masters? Does God want us to be poor? Are all the rich hellhound?

2. anglican74

anglican74 Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    To understand this we just have to look at how it's always been understood, by the doctors, and the fathers, and the reformers of the Church. After all, are we holier than they were? The meaning here revolves around the meaning of the word master. One who works for money, for a salary, or even has an inheritance, does not automatically have money as his master. A master is someone that regulates your highest goals and aspirations, and there are many who possess money that don't make it their highest aspiration. They may have it as their high aspiration but not the highest. That is what Christ wants. If he is their highest aspiration, the rich men will use their money for Christ's sake, and thereby will serve the kingdom of heaven.

apologetic, Lowly Layman and Madeline like this.
  3. Lowly Layman