Lay presidency

Discussion in 'Sacraments, Sacred Rites, and Holy Orders' started by Celtic1, Dec 15, 2012.

1. Toma

Toma Well-Known Member Anglican

Canada
    Religion:
    Anglican
    2 Peter 2:9:

But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.

That is what I garner from this.

Scottish Monk likes this.
  2. highchurchman

highchurchman Well-Known Member Anglican

Britain
    Religion:
    Anglican/Catholic
    When I studied for the priesthood, (in the 60s) , while we were taught as you say, somewhat,
    the quote you give was pointed out as an indication that to be a Christian at all was to elevate yourself above the mass! Not that it made Christians any better ,but it made them different, in that they took on certain responsibilities, they were responsible for their own behaviour after being taught by the Clergy! In other words they knew right from wrong! Funnily enough, they were no longer innocent! The clergy we were taught had even greater responsibilities.
    For an Anglican view of the questions arising from Catholic Priesthood, try reading Bishop Hickes ,D.D.
    Two Treatises on the Christian Priesthood & on the Episcopal Order. Bishop Hickes was the Primus of the Non Juring Church and a leading scholar of the late 17th, Century Church.,Dissertation 5. Vol.3 A.C.Library. App.pg,405,c/f.

Scottish Monk and Toma like this.
  3. Incense

Incense Active Member

I think each has their proper role in the body of Christ so why confuse them...
    I'd say why not someone who does not know how to play the piano would not play it? he has every right but he does not have the formation for it.

Scottish Monk and Toma like this.
  4. highchurchman

highchurchman Well-Known Member Anglican

Britain
    Religion:
    Anglican/Catholic
    True enough!

5. CatholicAnglican

CatholicAnglican Active Member

Canada