ACNA and Episcopalian

Discussion in 'Questions?' started by Elmo, Jan 20, 2022.

1. Annie Grace

Annie Grace Well-Known Member

Australia
    Religion:
    Anglican (Australia)
    I don't know all the political differences here in Australia, although I have heard that some dioceses, like Sydney, are definitely anti WO and others, like Melbourne are more accepting. My own diocese is pro WO, which suits me just fine. I am not sure if we have split off groups like the ACNA from the Episcopalian. Someone else from Australia might know about this. I am fairly new to Anglicanism, and I am just grateful that my diocese is pro because I love my parish priest (a female) and have thoughts of pursuing ordination myself (still discerning). As an RCC I knew that there were many divisions in the church, although even those who support WO can't really do anything about it since the Pope has made it clear that it isn't going to happen. And anyone who speaks out for WO is usually silenced. A priest friend of mine was fired and excommunicated. Later he tried to apologise and recant but he wasn't accepted back as a working priest.

It is a very divisive and controversial issue for a lot of people. I just like that we are even able to discuss it civilly, no matter our own opinions.

2. Invictus

Invictus Well-Known Member

United States
    Religion:
    Episcopalian