Eastern Orthodox Divine Liturgy

Discussion in 'Non-Anglican Discussion' started by Jellies, Aug 22, 2021.

1. Stalwart

Stalwart Well-Known Member Anglican

America
    Religion:
    Anglican
    I'm not an expert in liturgics to be able to trace its genealogy. All I said was that we have a very long prayer of sacrifice and oblation in our eucharistic liturgy. It is longer than anything that's come down to us from the patristic prayers and liturgies. So the notion of sacrifice, abstractly, is not in the least bit an issue. The only thing is: of what, to whom, and for what.

2. Jellies

Jellies Active Member

Usa
    Religion:
    Christian
    Oh ok I read it wrong. Can you Link me to anyone talking against transubstantiation in the 9th century? The earliest I heard about is John Wycliffe but he’s in the 14th

3. Stalwart

America
    Religion:
    Anglican
    https://books.google.com/books?id=we8CAAAAQAAJ

We also have the Anglo-Saxon sermons against transubstantiation within the Church of England, written in the 900s AD by Aelfric, the monk and abbot of Eynsham. As discussed here:
    https://books.google.com/books?id=I-ZJAAAAMAAJ&pg=PA314#v=onepage&q&f=false

A brief description (emphases mine):

Last edited: Aug 24, 2021
    Invictus and Jellies like this.
  4. Jellies

Jellies Active Member

Usa
    Religion:
    Christian
    Thank you :cheers: I will definitely read them.
    If you have anymore books about the Church of England resisting Roman or eastern innovations id love to read them too. It seems to me the English church had a more pure faith before being taken over by the papacy. But I can’t find any books on that

5. Stalwart

America
    Religion:
    Anglican