Episcopal church without gay marriage

Discussion in 'Faith, Devotion & Formation' started by Jellies, Jul 23, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Jellies

Jellies Active Member

Usa
    Religion:
    Christian
    I’m new to Anglicanism. Is there a “branch” of the episcopal church that isn’t associated with approving gay marriage? Or some sort of way I can know if they don’t approve it? (Are they even allowed to do that? Are they compelled to accept it? I’ve gone on their websites and haven’t found one that says they don’t).
    there’s like 1 Anglican Church near me I think which is why I wanted to try episcopal.
    Also I’m in FL, usa.

Carolinian likes this.
  2. Jellies

Jellies Active Member

Usa
    Religion:
    Christian
    Also an edit:
    I go in the episcopal church’s websites and in the “what we believe” they never say if they approve gay marriage or not. The only way I can tell in some of them is because they post pictures with rainbow stuff…
    Which is why I’m wondering if all episcopal churches are required to accept this. I really don’t want to have to message them individually and ask it seems like they’ll take it as a rude attack on gay people

Carolinian likes this.
  3. Stalwart

Stalwart Well-Known Member Anglican

America
    Religion:
    Anglican
    The Episcopal Church as a denomination is forfeit on this issue, since they recently rewrote their Prayerbook to remove all references to gender in for example the marriage rite. This was done so that they could officiate gay marriages without a fuss, “by the book” so to speak (literally).

There are two Anglican movements that are actively at war with the Episcopal Church. One is the Continuing Anglican movement, which broke off in the 70s over women’s ordination. @Shane R is a priest there and may be able to help finding a parish.