Common worship

Discussion in 'Liturgy, and Book of Common Prayer' started by David, May 27, 2021.

Tags:
  1. David

David Member Anglican

England
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Evening everyone

I have been wondering where or what inosired the common worship texts?

When I go to Confession the vicar says its from the BCP in the visitation of the sick...I see the note of absolution there but not the form of confusion in the common worship text.

Stalwart likes this.
  2. Stalwart

Stalwart Well-Known Member Anglican

America
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Great question. I am not an expert on 20th century liturgical revision, and I am not a fan of it either. The 1662 is the pinnacle of liturgical perfection as far as I'm concerned. But there are a bunch of users here who know more about how Common Worship came to be. But fyi, the 1662 BCP remains the canonically standard liturgical text for the Church of England.

Dave Kemp and David like this.
  3. Fr. Brench

Fr. Brench Well-Known Member Anglican

United States
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    Well, the Vicar is being generous about the explanation - the 1662's Visitation of the Sick provides the rubrics and absolution necessary for a private confession, but there was no actual rite for it at the time. And that kind of makes sense, as private confession is not common prayer.

The texts for Common Worship (2000) are inspired by several sources probably throughout the Anglican Communion. Before it was the Alternative Service Book from 1980 or thenabouts, and I'm sure it compiled a few other variant sources from modern African and American liturgical developments also.

David likes this.
  4. bwallac2335

bwallac2335 Well-Known Member

Religion:
    ACNA
    Just remember private confession is something you can avail yourself to but the general confession and absolution is just as good.

David and Invictus like this.
  5. bwallac2335

Religion:
    ACNA
    https://armenianchurchlibrary.com/files/