I am starting my journey to ordination.

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Lloyd Hobbard-Mitchell, Sep 25, 2020.

1. Lloyd Hobbard-Mitchell

Lloyd Hobbard-Mitchell New Member

Thailand
    Religion:
    Anglican (C of E)
    I am an Englishman living in Thailand, about three hours drive to Bangkok, where I have lived for 9 years now.

I am married (Susi) and my son, Sebastian, is 3 and a half. I have been working as a teacher online to Chinese students for about three years (since the boy was born); I work form home and can share in the care of my boy.

Covid has hit us particularly badly and my wife’s business has all but gone to the wall with no real prospect over the next 3-5 years of that recovering. I need to explore a long term future for me and the family which coincided with my have a rather profound and spiritual experience.

Over the last 20-odd years I have considered at various points following a path into the clergy.

I had worked for nearly twenty years for various homelessness charities, which at the time was always more important.

Since 2008, when I changed direction into the private sector, I have probably, twice a month at least, returned to the issue and for one reason or another thought it was not the right time. Suffice to say that the nagging voice which has now interrupted my consciousness has not receded and having tried various avenues with varying success and satisfaction I am beginning to feel compelled to explore my options seriously with a view of fulfilling a service/career within the Church.

Most recently, I hit a bit of a spiritual crossroads and I decided to commit my life there and then to Christ as I have been considering on and off for so long.

I have made a little video describing my moment of calling HERE.

There are some obvious constraints:

1) I live in Thailand

2) I need to work to maintain an income for my family (Wife and Son) whilst I commit to any formal training or qualifications.