Orthodoxy v. Anglicanism?

Discussion in 'Navigating Through Church Life' started by Anglican04, Jan 28, 2018.

1. Aidan

Aidan Well-Known Member

N Ireland
    Religion:
    Traditional RomanCatholic
    I saw a left hook going in that made me think the guys got to be part Northern Irish:popcorn:

Anglican04 likes this.
  2. Ide

Ide Well-Known Member

This is a timely thread for me! As part of my search to find my home in the Christian faith, I've visited a Eastern Orthodox church to learn more over the past several months- nearly heading down the path of a catechumen. I'm just an inquirer at this point and have made no commitments. I have been studying under the guidance of a very kind priest so that I can better understand the EO church. However, at this stage I'm still a total novice when it comes to learning about Christianity. If one is interested in EO, visit a church to see for yourself. It's absolutely an all consuming tradition- but what seems to take the most time is learning the culture of EO and not necessarily the faith behind it.

While the EO churches are very beautiful and traditional, I have come away with some severe doubts about joining them. I do respect their positions on holding fast to the traditions of the church ( no women priests, no Gay marriage etc..) and their resistance in the face of Islam and Communism, which must account for the steadfastness seen in their communities. I also tend to agree with their Theology stances including Theosis, the view of sin, and continual salvation in drawing closer to Christ through engagement of fasting, regular prayer, confession etc. I believe that the EO has preserved many elements of Christian life that the West has forgotten in its rush to embrace Modernism.