Carolina Divines and Westminster Divines

Discussion in 'Church History' started by Scottish Monk, Apr 9, 2013.

1. Scottish Monk

Scottish Monk Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Christian
    In the past, there have been much discussion on the Caroline Divines. In another thread one of our participants mentioned the Westminster Divines. Thus, I thought I would start a thread on the two groups.

As you can tell by the spelling of Carolina (Caroline) in the title of this thread--I am still learning.

However, spelling aside, I found a list of The Westminster Divines at this wikipedia article. There is a similar list (but not the same list) at the Westminister Assembly Project.

Has anybody cross-referenced the Caroline Divines with the Westminster Divines to see if any individuals are on both lists?

Scottish Monks

2. Charlie J. Ray

Charlie J. Ray Active Member

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican Reformed
    Scottish Monk,

The Carolingians are a completely different group. They are high church Arminians in the same line of thinking as high church Laudians: Caroline Divines. The article is biased somewhat since it reads the Tractarian view of "via media" back into the Caroline theology. Be that as it may, the Caroline view is opposed to the English Reformation, especially the Puritan reforms.

Augustus Toplady insisted that Archbishop Laud was involved in a Jesuit conspiracy to take the Church of England back to Rome. Whether or not that is true is debatable perhaps, but it is not beyond the realm of possibility.

Charlie

3. highchurchman

highchurchman Well-Known Member Anglican

Britain
    Religion:
    Anglican/Catholic
    The Caroline Divines were those Anglicans priests and Bishops who fought to retain the *Traditional teachings of the Anglican Church in the time of the Early Stuart Church. ( *Revelation, Scripture and The Seven Councils.) They were the losing side in the 17th, Cent, Wars of Religion.