Why I Am Not An Evangelical

Discussion in 'Church Strands (Anglo-catholics & Evangelicals)' started by JoeLaughon, Jul 3, 2018.

1. JoeLaughon

JoeLaughon Well-Known Member Anglican

United States
    Religion:
    ACNA
    Moses, Tiffy, Shane R and 2 others like this.
  2. Peteprint

Peteprint Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    High-Church Laudian
    I very well-written article, one that is quite charitable to all concerned. Thank you for sharing, Joel.

3. Magistos

Magistos Active Member Anglican

United States
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    Very well written indeed, and thanks for sharing!

4. MadHermit

MadHermit New Member

usa
    Religion:
    United Methodist
    My main complaint about liturgical traditions is their enslavement to lectionary preaching. For 12 years, I was an evangelical Theology professor at a Catholic university. Then I became a United Methodist minister. A wise old UMC pastor then told me that pressure to use the lectionary almost drove him from the ministry. He thought it stifled his creativity and quenched the Spirit. Actually, I found the lectionary useful for the first years of my ministry. It honors special seasons like Advent and Lent and cuts a very representative thematic swath through s=Scripture and and there are good resources to support lectionary use in the construction of worship services. Still, I grew to dislike the lectionary because of the wonderful and challenging biblical texts that it omits and because I wanted the freedom to interrupt my planned sermon schedule to create timely sermons that address current events and to follow the prompting of the Holy Spirit.

5. Peteprint

USA
    Religion:
    High-Church Laudian