Does anyone here speak Greek?

Discussion in 'The Commons' started by Servos, Feb 8, 2013.

1. Servos

Servos Active Member

Serbia
    Religion:
    Church of Serbia
    How much is Greek language popular between Anglicans?

Do you think that there is a need to learn Greek at all, and read Holy Gospel and eastern fathers in original?

Can someone of you read or speak Greek?

Fotis Greece and Toma like this.
  2. The Dark Knight

The Dark Knight Active Member

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican
    It is somewhat popular, in my experience. Knowledge of Greek is very helpful. I studied Greek for three years, but I'm out of practice!

Toma and Servos like this.
  3. Lowly Layman

Lowly Layman Well-Known Member

I've tried but having to start with a completely new alphabet proved too tough for me. I've compromised and have been boning up on Latin instead. So I guess its as the Romans say: est omnia mihi lingua graeca :p

Toma and Servos like this.
  4. Toma

Toma Well-Known Member Anglican

Canada
    Religion:
    Anglican
    There were entire learned treatises written entirely in Greek in the "old days". Our great scholars and divines were fluent in Latin, Greek, and Hebrew (in addition to English). This was a mandate of all colleges and universities. It's easy to find whole volumes of the Church Fathers published in Greek by Anglican scholars in the 17th & 18th centuries. Today it has fallen away somewhat, with the dumbing-down of culture & education.

I hope to learn Greek, as I believe it is more beautiful than Latin. It has all four grammatical cases and three genders in common with German, my favourite language. :D The alphabet just takes some memorization...

Servos likes this.
  5. Servos

Servos Active Member

Serbia
    Religion:
    Church of Serbia
    Flying over Greece...

Fotis Greece and Mercy like this.
  6. Jeff F

Jeff F Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Conservative Believer