Choosing a Canticle

Discussion in 'Liturgy, and Book of Common Prayer' started by Toma, Aug 1, 2012.

1. Toma

Toma Well-Known Member Anglican

Canada
    Religion:
    Anglican
    I am slowly discovering the beautiful history of variations in the Book of Common Prayer.

The 1662 and 1962 present the option of replacing the Te Deum with the Benedicite opera omnia (Song of the Three Children) following the First Lesson, and the Benedictus (Song of Zechariah) with Jubilate Deo (Psalm 100) following the Second Lesson at Morning Prayer

Similarly, the Magnificat (Song of the virgin Mary) may be replaced with Cantate Domino (Psalm 98), and the Nunc dimittis (Song of Simeon) may be replaced with Deus miseratur (Psalm 67) after their respective Lessons during Evening Prayer.

As an Anglican newbie, I'm wondering what governs selection between options. Are the Psalm alternatives merely to avoid repetition when the Gospel canticles appear in the lectionary? May they be used at any time? If so, why? Why is the Te Deum potentially replaced by the Benedicite? Was it to calm potential Puritan objections to using non-Biblical canticles?

Gordon likes this.
  2. The Hackney Hub

The Hackney Hub Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    The Episcopal Church
    Historically, there is no guideline as to when to use a Canticle. The 1549 directed the Benedicte to replace the Te Deum in Lent but after 1552 that rubric disappeared. The Psalms showed up in 1559 (maybe) because some puritans did not like saying the Gospel canticles. I imagine that most Higher clergy would have always used the Te Deum/Benedicte and the Gospel Canticles. I think the 1662 does give a direction to replace the Benedictus when it shows up in the readings.

Gordon and Toma like this.
  3. Symphorian

Symphorian Well-Known Member

UK
    Religion:
    Anglican, CofE
    Much the same as what The Hackney Hub wrote.

For the English Prayer Books: