About CHOOSING a parish. Please help.

Discussion in 'Faith, Devotion & Formation' started by Anzulove, Nov 18, 2016.

1. Anzulove

Anzulove New Member

United States
    Religion:
    Undecided
    I am new to the Anglican/Episcopalian faith (more about the Episcopalian since I live in the US).
    As many have heard, the Anglican Church and Episcopal Church aren't seeing eye to eye about the homosexuality topic, and so, the Episcopal is under suspension for 3 years.

Am I breaking some unseen rule if I ask the priests of the parishes, in the city that I live in, where they stand on the subject of homosexuality? I am conservative, and I stand more on the Anglican side of things than the Episcopal. I do not feel comfortable enough to be that liberal. So I ask for sane, respectful, and open mindedness from you, the reader, to give me some aid.

Should I visit the Episcopal Diocese Office? I want to find a priest and parish that is conservative, but I just do not know how I should approach this.

2. Botolph

Botolph Well-Known Member

Australia
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Hi Anzulove,

I would suggest you visit the website of a Parish. Interestingly, as it is a hot topic, you can often figure out the position from there. Either you can work it out from the pictures (rainbows without Noah, and lots of same sex couples will clue you in), or overuse of the word inclusive, which should mean inclusive, but often is treated as the code word for gay-friendly.