Any help on figuring out a regular prayer life?

Discussion in 'Personal Advice, Care & Prayers' started by Seeker20, May 15, 2018.

1. Seeker20

Seeker20 New Member

United States
    Religion:
    Anglican
    I am new to the Anglican faith. I want to figure out a daily plan on prayer. I never have had a strong prayer life. Any help, would be appreciated.

Dave Kemp, Lowly Layman and Stalwart like this.
  2. Religious Fanatic

Religious Fanatic Well-Known Member

USA
    Religion:
    Christian
    I don't know if you're confirmed or not. If you don't already have one, get yourself a copy of the 1928 Book of Common Prayer. Particularly this version:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/THE-1928-B...-AVAILABLE-NA-NEW-HARDCOVER-BOOK/191932575791

There's many good devotions in it. I'd suggest praying in agreement with whatever is assigned to the service calendar, especially if you aren't able to attend a church for whatever reason. You can pray them even outside of that in whatever order you want based on the subject and category.

Lowly Layman likes this.
  3. Seeker20

Seeker20 New Member

United States
    Religion:
    Anglican
    I am not confirmed. I just recently started attending a church. Thank you, I will check out the link you suggested.

Lowly Layman likes this.
  4. Peteprint

Peteprint Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    High-Church Laudian
    You may want to look at the St. Augustine Prayer Book as well. It can be purchased hard copy on Amazon, or from the Forward Movement or the Episcopal Bookstore:

https://www.amazon.com/Saint-August...48&sr=8-1&keywords=st+augustine's+prayer+book

https://www.forwardmovement.org/Products/2130/saint-augustines-prayer-book.aspx

https://www.episcopalbookstore.com/product.aspx?productid=8485

Here is a PDF that you can immediately access that contains part of the book:

https://www.forwardmovement.org/Content/Site170/FilesSamples/151277StAugusti_00000077574.pdf

Last edited: May 16, 2018