Hello

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Laura S., Dec 23, 2017.

1. Laura S.

Laura S. New Member

United States
    Hi I just joined this forum on December 21, and wanted to introduce myself. I am currently a member of the Southern Baptist denomination and have been so for 24 years. Lately, though I have been prayerfully questioning whether at this point in my life the church, both the Baptist faith as a whole and the church that I attend in general is where I spiritually belong at this point in my life. I have been praying about this for several months and recently resigned from all obligations (committees, councils, teaching obligations etc) at the church I am a member of in order to spend more time finding out where I spiritually belong. That said, I had been looking at churches near my home and while checking out their web pages I was drawn to the one for the Episcopal church near my home. I had looked into this church a few years ago, but at that time the reverend was a kindly older gentleman from, I believe Nairobi or a country near there, and I had a hard time understanding him. I felt like if I could not understand what the Lord was saying through him what good was it going to do me to attend services there. Well, this church has a new minister and I have recently contacted her. We met at a local coffee shop a few weeks ago and she answered my questions and cleared up some misconceptions I had about the Episcopalian and Anglican churches. In all I came away from our visit feeling as if this maybe the church the Lord is leading me to. I will begin attending services there in January to if this truly is the right place for me to be at this point in my life. If, after attending for several months and of course praying for the Lord's direction, I clearly sense that this is where I belong. I will be asking to be enrolled in the next confirmation class that will be held in the spring and then take the next steps to becoming a member. In the meantime, I will