What is the Anglican view on purgatory?

Discussion in 'Theology and Doctrine' started by neminem, Nov 28, 2017.

Tags:
  1. neminem

neminem Active Member

Australia
    Religion:
    Christian
    I am new to Anglicanism. I have several questions I need to now, my first question is: What is the Anglican view on purgatory?

2. Botolph

Botolph Well-Known Member

Australia
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Article 22

Perhaps a start to you information hunt may be here. This is certainly not the last word on the subject and I am sure there will be others who will chip in, but at least it may be a start to your enquiry.

Thomas Didymus and JoeLaughon like this.
  3. PotterMcKinney

PotterMcKinney Active Member Typist Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    PECUSA
    Traditionally, Anglicans denied purgatory, as the link Phillip posted indicates. The reason was because they felt as though that Christ's sacrifice sufficed to pay for both original sin and actual sins, with the medieval notion of purgatory being a punishment for actual sins, because Christ only atoned for original sin. From that, they also denied indulgences, private masses, and prayers for the dead being used to reduce one's time in purgatory, which they considered there only pertinent use.

Theoretically, there are other ways one can view purgatory that doesn't fall under how the Reformers viewed it, like what CS Lewis held to; but a notion of a realm outside of Hell and Paradise in which sins are punished is foreign to Scripture and the universal traditions of the Church.

4. anglican74

anglican74 Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    We can accept the middle state, and some Divines have taught the notion of the middle state, but that is a different concept from the medieval and modern Roman concept of Purgatory and the Treasury of Merits

5. PotterMcKinney

USA
    Religion:
    PECUSA
    Certainly, this is what I was getting at, though clunkily.