What is the difference between the different BCPs?

Discussion in 'Liturgy, and Book of Common Prayer' started by Achilles Smith, Nov 5, 2017.

1. Achilles Smith

Achilles Smith Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican
    Hi! I'm new to the faith. I have read a few articles online and some claim that one year of the BCP is better than the other. Why do some prefer the 1928 BCP as opposed to the 1979 BCP?

2. DivineOfficeNerd

DivineOfficeNerd Active Member Anglican

United States
    Religion:
    Laudian Anglo-Catholic
    1928 BCP is a classically Anglican prayer book, in the Scots tradition. It reflects more closely orthodox Anglicanism and traditional theology. It can be called more protestant, or more reformed, though it still is very much catholic.

The 1979 BCP was a revolutionary prayer book which modified the structure of the prayer book to reflect a much more Roman or Ritualistic style. It, in many places, promotes theology which is less than orthodox, but not necessarily heretical (heterodox).

anawkwardaardvark likes this.
  3. anglican74

anglican74 Well-Known Member Anglican

USA
    Religion:
    Anglican (ACNA)
    I would object to the classification of the 1928 BCP as 'Reformed'. Much ink and blood has been spilt over such terms being applied every which way in recent times...

Look we have to understand that part of the reason why the Anglican world was in crisis over the last 100 years is because incorrect terms have been used and accepted and rent our beautiful Church into multiple camps or pieces. I mean sure if you're Dom Gregory Dix then the 1928 is 'Reformed' but to him nothing less than a Missal would be seen as Catholic, and since he was a founding force behind the (correctly labeled) revolutionary 1979 BCP (which I'd say is heterodox, or at least non-Anglican), Dix and any of his ilk are likewise revolutionaries and non-Anglicans, whatever their nominal Church classification may be...