Alternative liturgy

Discussion in 'Liturgy, and Book of Common Prayer' started by theEpiscopalavenger, Jun 18, 2017.

1. theEpiscopalavenger

theEpiscopalavenger New Member

USA
    Religion:
    Episcopalian
    does anyone have any experience with the English or American missal ? Or with the enriching our worship liturgys ? Can you explain the differences between these and the book of common prayer common prayer?

2. Symphorian

Symphorian Well-Known Member

UK
    Religion:
    Anglican, CofE
    I have some experience of the English Missal or Knott Missal as it's also known. I attended an Anglo-Catholic parish in the 1980's and early 1990's where the English Missal was used mainly for its Propers which were slotted into the Communion liturgy from the Proposed 1928 BCP. It was also used for Holy Week liturgies and some Votive Masses. I'm not aware of any parishes that still use it locally - it's probably quite unusual to find it in the Church of England today. The English Missal is basically the Missale Romanum of Pope Pius V translated into Prayer Book English with bits and pieces from the BCP thrown in.

A little background to the English Missal here:

http://www.theenglishmissalsociety.co.uk/history-of-the-missal.html

In my diocese there was quite an extreme Anglo-Catholic presence during the first half of the 20th century. Many such parishes used the English Missal. The majority of our Diocesan Bishops were generally sympathetic to the Anglo-Catholic clergy but it did cause some controversy to the point where one church was desecrated by a bunch of Kensitites in the early 1930's with altars and ornaments being smashed. The story is related in a book by Bernard Walke 'Twenty Years at St Hilary'. Walke was the Anglo-Catholic vicar at the time. Quite an interesting read.